

The Joint Fall 2020 Meeting of the Texas Section of the APS (TSAPS), Texas Section of the AAPT, and Zone 13 of the Society of Physics Students will be held **November 12-14, 2020 virtually** with the University of Texas at Arlington hosting the conference. The meeting will draw participants from all fields of physics and physics education throughout Texas and contiguous states.



TSAPS 2020 Fall Meeting Website: https://www.uta.edu/physics/TSAPSF20/

DEADLINES

<u>Online Registration</u> is currently available. The early registration deadline is October 25. Note that one need not be an APS member to register for the meeting and all registrations **are FREE of charge**.

Registration at

https://my.aps.org/NC__Event?id=a0lf400000BH3KXAA1

https://www.uta.edu/physics/TSAPSF20/

Sign up to judge student oral presentations: Attendees with Ph.D.s in physics or related field are encouraged to sign up to judge student oral presentations. *We need your help, and students need your support! (sign up at https://www.uta.edu/physics/TSAPSF20/)*

<u>Abstract submission</u> for contributed talks has a deadline of October 31. All presentations are oral and virtual for this meeting. No poster presentations. Please contact the corresponding committee members for each area as below if any questions.

For more information regarding the conference, please contact the Chair of the organizing committee, Prof. Dr. Wei Chen (weichen@uta.edu).

General abstract submission: <u>http://abstracts.aps.org/</u>.

For invited speakers, please submit http://abstracts.aps.org/invited

Areas	Committee members and contact information	
General Information	Dr. Wei Chen, Conference Chair Professor of Physics Email: weichen@uta.edu	
	Holly Zander Administrative Services Officer I <u>holly.zander@uta.edu</u>	
	Dr. Jonathan Asaadi Assistant Professor of Physics Email: jonathan.asaadi@uta.edu	
High Energy and Particle Physics	Dr. Benjamin Jones Assistant Professor of Physics Email: <u>ben.jones@uta.edu</u>	
Condensed Matter Physics	Dr. Muhammad N. Huda Associate Professor of Physics Email: <u>huda@uta.edu</u>	
Medical Physics	Dr. Yujie Chi Assistant Professor of Physics Email: yujie.chi@uta.edu	
	Dr. Mingwu Jin Associate Professor of Physics Email: <u>mingwu@uta.edu</u>	
Space Physics	Dr. Daniel Welling Assistant Professor, Email: <u>daniel.welling@uta.edu</u>	
Astrophysics	Dr. Manfred Cuntz Professor Email: <u>cuntz@uta.edu</u>	

Data Science	Dr. Amir Shahmoradi
	Assistant Professor
	Email: <u>a.shahmoradi@uta.edu</u>

Keynote Speakers for TSAPS 2020, Nov. 12-14, UT Arlington

Name	Title	Institution	Area
Dr. David Nygren	Presidential Distinguished Professor Member of National Academy of Sciences	Department of Physics The University of Texas at Arlington	High Energy and Particle Physics
Dr. Jodi Cooley	Professor of Physics AAAS Fellow Klopsteg Memorial Lecture Award	Department of Physics Southern Methodist University	Dark Matter Physics Neutrino Physics
Dr. James Coleman	Presidential Distinguished Professor Dr. Richard N. Claytor Professor	Department of Physics and department of Electric Engineering	Condense Matter Physics, Quantum Materials

	Member of National Academy of Engineering	The University of Texas at Arlington	
Dr. Gary Zank	Director of CSPAR Aerojet Rocketdyne Chair in Space Science, Eminent Scholar, Trustee Professor Member of National Academy of Sciences	Department of Space Science (SPA) at The University of Alabama in Huntsville	Interplanetary space physics Physics of the solar corona Physics of the local interstellar medium
Dr. Tsun-Kong (T.K.) Sham	Distinguished University Professor Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada Canada Research Chair Officer of Order of Canada Hellmuth Prize	Department of Chemistry Western University Canada	Materials Science Synchrotron Spectroscopy and Energy Materials
Dr. Supriyo Datta	Thomas Duncan Distinguished Professor Member of National Academy of Engineering Morrill Award Winner	Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering, Purdue University	quantum transport Physics and nanoelectronics Nanostructures

Dr. Steve Long	Ikenberry Endowed		
	University	<u>School of</u>	Plant Science
	Chair	Integrative Biology	energy crops
	Member of the	University of	mathematical models
	National	Illinois at Urbana-	of photosynthesis
	Academy of	<u>Champaign</u>	
	Sciences (NAS)		
A BARA	Fellow of		
	AAAS and		
	ASPB		
Dr. Nicholas A. Kotov	Joseph B. and	Department of	Nanomaterials
	Florence V. Cejka	Chemical	Nanotechnology
	Professor	Engineering	Nanobiotechnology
	<i>Top 25 Materials</i> <i>Scientists in 2000-</i>	University of	
	2010, 2011 and	Michigan	
	Top 100 Chemists		
	in 2000-2010, 2011		
	Thomson Reuters ACS Nano Editor		

Dr. Zhifeng Ren	M. D. Anderson Chair Professor, Director of Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston (TcSUH), Editor-in-Chief of Materials Today Physics	Department of Physics, University of Houston	Nanomaterials Nanophysics Condensed Matter Physics
-----------------	--	---	---

INVITED SPEAKERS (MEDICAL PHYSICS) (more speakers in other areas will be coming soon)

Invited Speakers (Medical Physics) for TSAPS 2020, Nov. 12-14, UT Arlington				
Name	Title	Institution	Area	
Dr. Xiankai	Professor and Director,	Department of Radiology and	Molecular Imaging	
Sun	Cyclotron &	Advanced Imaging Research	Probes	
	Radiochemistry Program	Center at the UT Southwestern	Theranostic Agents	
68	Dr. Jack Krohmer Professor	Medical Center	Multi-parametric	
	in Radiation Physics		Imaging & Data	
T BORT			Analysis	

Dr. Xun Jia	Professor ABR-certified Medical Physicist Director of the Medical Physics Track for the BME Graduate Program John Laughlin Award	Department of Radiation Oncology at the UT Southwestern Medical Center	Medical Imaging Radiotherapy Deep Learning
Dr. Felicia S. Manciu	Professor Director of the Optical Spectroscopy and Microscopy Laboratory	Department of Physics Border Biomedical Research Center (BBRC) at the University of Texas at El Paso	Optics Nanotechnology Biophysics
Dr. Juyang Huang	Professor	Department of Physics and Astronomy at the Texas Tech University	Biophysics Biomembranes Fluorescence Tech Molecular Dynamics
Dr. Jason Slinker	Associate Professor Head of Physics Undergraduate Program Regents Outstanding Teaching Award Hyer Award for Research	Department of Physics at the University of Texas at Dallas	Optoelectronics Electrochemical Sensor
Dr. Mingwu Jin	Associate Professor	Department of Physics, University of Texas at Arlington	Medical Imaging Tomography MRI

Dr. Neil Kirby	Associate Professor ABR-certified Medical Physicist	Radiation Oncology, UT Health San Antonio	Medical Physics DNA dosimeter
Dr. Anton Naumov	Assistant Professor Member at Large at Electrochemical Society	Department of Physics and Astronomy at the Texas Christian University TCU & UNTHSC Medical School	Carbon Nanotechnology Nanomedicine Biomedical imaging
Dr. Lloyd Lumata	Associate Professor	Department of Physics, University of Texas at Dallas	Cancer Metabolism MRI NMR spectroscopy
Dr. Yujie Chi	Assistant Professor Rising Stars Award	Department of Physics, University of Texas at Arlington	Computational Physics Radiobiology